Follow Us
Banner

Cultural and Public Diplomacy:

In today's world, globalisation and technology have enabled an unprecedented exchange of ideas, facilitating an enormous capacity for cross-cultural dialogue and education and disseminating information detrimental to stability and peace. Cultural and Public Diplomacy includes, but is not limited to, the exchange of ideas, art and language for the greater purpose of creating understanding between nations and people. Cultural and Public Diplomacy supports dialogue, education and cultural exchange in the service of improved mutual respect, international collaboration and global prosperity.

The UAE was built on our Founding Father Sheikh Zayed's foundational values of tolerance, peace, and stability. His guiding strategy was to show friendship towards all cultures and peoples, promote moderate Islam, and work for mutually advantageous cooperation with all nations.

Today, Sheikh Zayed's historical vision is reflected in a thriving and tolerant nation that hosts more than 200 nationalities, has a 93% literacy rate, welcomes over 15 million tourists annually, and is proud of the fact that 70% of all its university graduates are women.

The UAE's total aid and development programmes have earned it the rank of top world donor relative to GNP over six years. They serve over 147 countries of diverse religious and cultural backgrounds without any political bias. In addition, the UAE is home to over 40 churches and other places of worship, as well as numerous world-class centres of education and culture, such as the Sorbonne University Abu Dhabi, The New York University Abu Dhabi and the Louvre Museum Abu Dhabi. In effect, the values of tolerance, religious freedom and mutual respect championed by Sheikh Zayed are ingrained in the UAE's DNA.

In 2020, the UAE ranked first in the region and 18th internationally in the Global Soft Power Index. This is a testament to the nation's ongoing commitment to ensuring an environment of opportunity, innovation, development and tolerance for all citizens, residents and visitors to the UAE and ensuring respectful, mutually beneficial and peaceful relationships with the international community.

Countries must work together to build trust and understanding to tackle global challenges together successfully. Cultural and Public Diplomacy aids in eliminating the divisions and distrust between nations and allows the international community to work together in addressing challenges such as climate change, extremism, gender equality and education.

In 2018, under the leadership of His Excellency Dr Zaki Nusseibeh, Minister of State, the Assistant Minister's Office for Cultural Affairs in charge of Public and Cultural Diplomacy was established at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation in Abu Dhabi. Dr Nusseibeh is well suited to lead this mission. He is a former translator and adviser to Sheikh Zayed and witnessed the sheikh's astute grasp of cultural diplomacy.

In 2019, His Excellency Omar Saif Ghobash, former ambassador to France and Russia, was appointed Assistant Minister for Cultural Affairs. The Assistant Minister's Office for Cultural Affairs focuses on supporting UAE missions internationally in their cultural and public diplomacy outreach, bolsters the UAE government's soft power agenda and supports international cooperation. Diplomats undergo cultural diplomacy training to foster ties built on the values of innovation, tolerance and charity.

“Despite the obvious transformations of our country over the last half-century, our culture remains rooted in the same values as always: a commitment to women's empowerment, to invest in the well-being of our people, to provide an open, economically attractive and culturally rich environment for expatriates and visitors, to constant innovation, to compassion for the less fortunate, to tolerance of other religions and cultures, and to respect one another. For in a world in which too many people are closing doors, it is in the UAE's national interest, and in our national character, to keep pushing them open.” 

His Excellency Zaki Nusseibeh, Minister of State
For more information, please visit https://www.opcd.ae/

This link will direct you to an external website that may have different content and privacy policies from mofaic.gov.ae

تـابـعنـا
Banner

في عالمنا اليوم، ساهمت التكنولوجيا المتطورة في تبادل غير مسبوق للأفكار، مما سهل بشكل كبير عملية الحوار بين الثقافات والتعليم، وكذلك إمكانية نشر المعلومات غير الصحيحة والتي يمكن أن تضر بالاستقرار والسلام. وتشمل الدبلوماسية الثقافية والعامة، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر، تبادل الأفكار والفن واللغة لغرض أكبر وهو خلق التفاهم بين الأمم والشعوب. كما يدعم الحوار والتعليم والتبادل الثقافي تطوير التعاون الدولي والازدهار العالمي.

وتأسست دولة الإمارات على قيم التسامح والسلام التي غرسها الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان (طيب الله ثراه). وكانت استراتيجيته تقوم على إظهار الصداقة تجاه جميع الثقافات والشعوب، وتعزيز قيم الإسلام المعتدل والعمل من أجل تعاون متبادل في المنفعة مع جميع الدول لتحقيق الاستقرار العالمي.

وتنعكس اليوم رؤية المغفور له التاريخية في بناء دولة مزدهرة وقائمة على التسامح، حيث تستضيف دولة الإمارات أكثر من 200 جنسية، وترحب بأكثر من 15 مليون سائح سنويًا. وتفخر بأن نسبة النساء الخريجات تبلغ 70 في المائة، فيما تبلغ نسبة الإلمام بالقراءة والكتابة نحو 93 في المئة من شعب الإمارات.

وتعتبر دولة الإمارات من أكبر الدول المانحة للمساعدات الإنسانية على مدى أربع سنوات من السنوات الست الماضية بالنسبة إلى الناتج القومي الإجمالي. وتستفيد من هذه المساعدات  أكثر من 147 دولة من خلفيات دينية وثقافية متنوعة بعيدا عن أي تحيز سياسي.

كما أن الإمارات العربية المتحدة هي موطن لأكثر من 40 كنيسة ومكان للعبادة، بالإضافة إلى العديد من مراكز التعليم والثقافة ذات المستوى العالمي، مثل جامعة السوربون، وجامعة نيويورك ومتحف اللوفر في أبوظبي. وهذا يبرهن أن قيم التسامح والحرية الدينية والاحترام المتبادل التي يدعمها الأب المؤسس الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان "طيب الله ثراه" متأصلة في جذور الشعب الإماراتي.

في عام 2020، احتلت دولة الإمارات المرتبة الأولى في المنطقة والمرتبة 18 دوليًا في مؤشر القوة الناعمة العالمية. وهذا دليل على التزام الدولة المستمر بتوفير بيئة من الفرص والابتكار والتطوير والتسامح لجميع المواطنين والمقيمين والزوار وضمان علاقات قائمة على الاحترام المتبادل والسلام مع المجتمع الدولي.

هذا ومن الضروري أن تعمل الدول معًا لبناء الثقة والتفاهم في ما بينها من أجل معالجة التحديات العالمية بنجاح. وتساعد الدبلوماسية الثقافية والعامة في القضاء على الانقسامات وبناء الثقة بين الدول، وتسمح للمجتمع العالمي بالعمل معًا في مواجهة تحديات مثل تغير المناخ والتطرف والمساواة بين الجنسين والتعليم.

وقد تم إنشاء مكتب مساعد الوزير للشؤون الثقافية المسؤول عن الدبلوماسية العامة والثقافية في وزارة الخارجية والتعاون الدولي في عام 2018، تحت قيادة معالي الدكتور زكي نسيبة، وزير الدولة، الذي يعتبر الشخص المناسب لقيادة هذه المهمة.

وفي عام 2019، تم تعيين سعادة عمر سيف غباش، السفير السابق لفرنسا وروسيا، ليصبح مساعد وزير الخارجية والتعاون الدولي للشؤون الثقافية. لدعم البعثات الإماراتية على الصعيد الدولي في مجال التواصل الدبلوماسي والثقافي العام، ويعمل على تعزيز أجندة القوة الناعمة لحكومة الإمارات ودعم التعاون الدولي. ويخضع الدبلوماسيون للتدريب على الدبلوماسية الثقافية وتعزيز العلاقات المبنية على قيم الابتكار والتسامح والإحسان.

"على الرغم من التحولات الكبيرة التي شهدتها بلادنا خلال نصف القرن الماضي، فإن ثقافتنا لا تزال تتسم بنفس القيم كما هي الحال دائمًا: الالتزام بتمكين المرأة، والاستثمار في رفاهية شعبنا، وتوفير بيئة مفتوحة وجاذبة اقتصاديا، والابتكار المستدام، والتعاطف مع الأقل حظا، والتسامح بين الأديان والثقافات الأخرى، والاحترام تجاه بعضنا البعض. ففي عالم يغلق الكثير من الناس فيه الأبواب، فإنه من مصلحة الإمارات الوطنية، الاستمرار في الانفتاح على العالم". معالي زكي نسيبة  - وزير دولة

يوجهك هذا الرابط إلى موقع خارجي قد يكون له سياسات مختلفة للمحتوى والخصوصية عن موقع وزارة الخارجية والتعاون الدولي لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.