Follow Us
Voting

Consul General: Her Excellency Amna Binzaal Almheiri

Contact The Ambassador
Her Excellency Amna Binzaal Almheiri was appointed Consul General of the United Arab Emirates in New York in August 2021. As Consul General, Almheiri works to promote the important UAE-US bilateral relationship and expand business and cultural ties in New York and the eastern US region. Consul General Almheiri also serves as a liaison for US corporate and government officials and as a resource for UAE nationals residing in the East Coast area.

Prior to her current position, Consul General Almheiri joined the UAE Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation (MOFAIC) in March 2005 and served at the Permanent Mission of the UAE to the United Nations in New York between 2005 and 2010. During this time, she represented the UAE in the UN General Assembly’s Third Committee with a focus on human rights and related issues. She also had representation in other groups, such as the Social Development Committee and the Commission on the Status of Women.

In 2010, Consul General Almheiri returned to Abu Dhabi and was among the team that established the Human Rights Department within MOFAIC. The Department is responsible for the UAE’s representation in international and regional meetings on human rights while working with domestic stakeholders to ensure that the UAE’s policies are aligned with its international obligations and commitments. Within three years, Consul General Almheiri became the head of the Human Rights Department, first as Deputy Director and then as Director. She was instrumental in managing the UAE’s engagement within the UN Human Rights Council and the submission of its Universal Periodic Review (UPR).

Consul General Almheiri served for one year (2017-2018) at the UAE’s National Media Council, where she was based in Brussels, Belgium, and was responsible for managing the implementation, execution and coordination of a public diplomacy program in Europe.

Consul General Almheiri received her Bachelor’s Degree of Science in Computer Engineering from the American University of Sharjah and a Master's Degree in Global Finance from the New School University in New York.  

Consul General Almheiri lives with her husband and four children in New York.

Contact The Ambassador

Supported File Types :
  • PDF
  • Microsoft Office Files: Doc, Docx, Ppt, Pptx
This link will direct you to an external website that may have different content and privacy policies from mofaic.gov.ae

اتصل بنا
Voting

القنصل العام لدولة الإمارات في نيويورك: سعادة / آمنة بن زعل المهيري

تواصل مع السفير
عُينت سعادة / آمنة زعل المهيري، قنصلاً عاماً لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بنيويورك، في أغسطس 2021. ومن خلال منصبها الجديد ستعمل سعادتها على تعزيز العلاقات الثنائية المتينة بين دولة الإمارات والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، فضلاً عن تقوية وتوسيع الروابط الثقافية والتجارية والاقتصادية مع ولاية نيويورك والولايات الأمريكية الأخرى في منطقة شرق الولايات المتحدة. 

كما وتعتبر سعادتها بمثابة حلقة الوصل بين الجانب الأمريكي بقطاعيه الحكومي والخاص وبين الجهات المعنية في الدولة، الى جانب تقديم الدعم والمساندة للمواطنين المتواجدين في منطقة الساحل الشرقي للولايات المتحدة. 

وفي السابق، انضمت سعادة / آمنة المهيري الى كادر وزارة الخارجية والتعاون الدولي في شهر مارس من عام 2005، وعملت في البعثة الدائمة لدولة الإمارات لدى الأمم المتحدة في نيويورك في الفترة من 2005 – 2010. ومن خلال دورها في البعثة مثلت سعادتها دولة الإمارات في اللجنة الثالثة للمنظمة (الاجتماعية والإنسانية والثقافية) مع التركيز الخاص على قضايا حقوق الإنسان وقضايا أخرى ذات الصلة. كما عملت مع لجان أخرى منها "لجنة التنمية الاجتماعية" و"لجنة حقوق المرأة". 

وفي عام 2010، وبعد عودتها من نيويورك الى أبوظبي، قامت سعادتها، مع عدد من موظفي الوزارة، بتأسيس "إدارة حقوق الإنسان" ضمن وزارة الخارجية والتعاون الدولي، حيث مثلت هذه الإدارة دولة الإمارات في جميع المحافل الدولية والإقليمية الخاصة بحقوق الإنسان، الى جانب العمل مع أصحاب المصلحة المحليين في الدولة لضمان انسياق سياسات وأنظمة دولة الإمارات مع التزاماتها الدولية في هذا المجال. 

وفي غضون ثلاث سنوات تمكنت سعادتها من شغل منصب مدير إدارة حقوق الإنسان، بعد أن كانت نائباً لمدير الإدارة. ومن خلال منصبها الجديد لعبت دوراً حيوياً هاماً في إدارة مشاركات الدولة في اجتماعات مجلس حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة وكذلك في تقديم تقرير المراجعة الدورية الشاملة الخاصة بالمجلس.  
   
في الفترة من 2017 – 2018 وخلال تواجدها في بروكسل، بلجيكا، عملت سعادتها مع "المجلس الوطني للإعلام" حيث تولت مسؤولية تنفيذ وتنسيق برنامج الدبلوماسية العامة في أوروبا. 

حصلت سعادتها على شهادة بكالوريوس العلوم في هندسة الحاسوب من الجامعة الأمريكية بالشارقة، وعلى شهادة الماجستير في التمويل الدولي من جامعة "نيو سكول" في ولاية نيويورك بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. وهي متزوجة ولديها أربعة أبناء.

تواصل مع السفير

انواع المرفقات المدعومة :
  • PDF
  • ملفات ميكروسوفت : Doc, Docx, Ppt, Pptx
يوجهك هذا الرابط إلى موقع خارجي قد يكون له سياسات مختلفة للمحتوى والخصوصية عن موقع وزارة الخارجية والتعاون الدولي لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.